Return to Headlines

FROM MR. RUSNAK

Haga clic para español

August 29, 2022

Dear Parents/Guardians and Students: 

Welcome to the 2022-2023 school year! The administration, faculty, and staff are excited to open New Brunswick High School on September 6, 2022. I hope you had a fun and restful summer. As we begin our year, I wanted to inform you of updates, contact information, and expectations.

The school hours have changed! The new student hours are 7:46 AM to 2:36 PM. When in school, in order to position yourself for success, arrive at school on time (by 7:40 AM), complete assignments, behave appropriately, do not use cell phones during class/in the hallways, and dress appropriately. Our district policy/regulation regarding cell phones and dress code can be found here: Policy 5516, Policy 5518, and Regulation 5511. For your reference, “The school dress code colors are white, blue, light blue and/or items with district logo apparel, as well as khaki, black, or blue pants and skirts.” It is expected that students wear school colors only and follow regulation 5511, Section B “Prohibited Clothing and Articles” in regards to the dress code.

Parents/Guardians, we are pleased to have you as partners in your child’s education.  I encourage you to communicate regularly with your child’s teacher and counselors to monitor his/her academic progress. Communications will be shared electronically during the 2022-2023 school year via the school website (NBHS Website), Talking Points (Talking Points) , and/or e-mail.  Students’ schedules will be available on the student/parent portal September 2, 2022, and directions on how to access the parent portal are located here: Parent Portal Resource Guide.  Schedules will also be mailed the week of August 29, 2022. 

Students, if you are unable to access your schedule for the first day of school, please report to the auditorium for assistance. For your convenience, the following is a list of the High School Guidance Counselors and their school email addresses:

 

Rafael Castillo: rafael_castillo@nbpsnj.net

Sharon Dills: sharon_dills@nbpsnj.net
Nathaniel HArris: nathaniel_harris@nbpsnj.net

Kawanna Jenkins:  kawanna_jenkins@nbpsnj.net
Parker Kaminsky: parker_kaminsky@nbpsnj.net

Derek Peters: derek_peters@nbpsnj.net
Marisol Robles: marisol_robles@nbpsnj.net

Karen Simmons: karen_simmons@nbpsnj.net
Marisa Sudnick: marisa_sudnick@nbpsnj.net

 

During the first two weeks in September, students will be receiving the following forms: 1) Acceptable Use Agreement; 2) Permission for Walking Excursions; and 3) Media Release Form.  If your child is 17 years of age or older, please also complete the Parental Objection to Release of Student Information to Military Recruiters, College/University Recruiters or Prospective Employers.  It is important that when you receive these forms, your son/daughter returns the completed and signed forms to his/her White Day Advisory Teacher.  Students will also receive the Emergency Contact Form.  It is very important that you complete this form to update your contact information, especially with the names of the persons you authorize to pick up your son/daughter from school.

If your child is absent from school, please remember that you must report all absences by calling 732‑745‑5300, Extensions 3021 or 3022 by 9:00 AM.  Please remember that in order for students to be excused for their absences, a note must be provided to the Attendance Office.  Back to School Night is scheduled for Thursday, September 22, 2022 at 6:00 PM.  Please check the school website calendar for additional school events.  If you have any questions and/or concerns, please feel free to contact the school at 732-745-5300, Extension 3000.  I look forward to a successful school year, and thank you for your support.

Sincerely,

Matt Rusnak, Principal
New Brunswick High School