WorkFirst NJ

  • Work First New Jersey (WFNJ) consists of three programs Community Work Experience Program (CWEP), Job Search Assistance Program (JSAP), and Extended Job Search. Clients are referred directly by the Middlesex County Board of Social Services.

     

    JOB SEARCH ASSISTANCE PROGRAM (JSAP)

    The Job Search Assistance Program is a four-week program that trains clients to actively search for a job. Included in the training are labor market navigation skills, soft skills and dressing for success. Clients are Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) participants assigned by the Board of Social Services. 

     

    COMMUNITY WORK EXPERIENCE PROGRAM (CWEP)

    The Community Work Experience Program is a six-month continuation of the Job Search Program. The program clients (Temporary Assistance to Needy Families and General Assistance participants) combine classroom instruction with community service work experience at Non-Profit agencies. 

     

    EXTENDED JOB SEARCH

    Extended Job Search is a continuation of the client's benefits that include General Assistance (GA) and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). Program clients participate in an independent job search and must report weekly to the WFNJ program for verification and collection of their job logs.

     

     

     

  • Work First New Jersey

    550 Jersey Ave 

    New Brunswick, NJ 08901

    732.745.8915

     

    Hours of Operation:

    Monday-Friday 9:00 am - 4:30 pm

    Observes Federal Holiday Schedule

  • MEET OUR STAFF

     WFNJ Facilitator

    Phyllis Boulanger

    phyllis_boulanger@nbpsnj.net

    Job Search Instructor/Counselor

    Jennifer Pena

    jennifer_pena@nbpsnj.net

    Job Readiness Coach

    Thomas Weiner

    thomas_weiner@nbpsnj.net

    CWEP Community Agent

    Yesenia Gutierrez

    yesenia_gutierrez@nbpsnj.net

    Paraprofessionals

    Kathleen Gray - kathleen_gray@nbpsnj.net

    Tasha Tillery - tasha_tillery@nbpsnj.net

Last Modified on Saturday at 9:30 AM