C.A.R.E.S. (Creating Alternate Routes for Educational Success)

  • C.A.R.E.S. is an alternative program of New Brunswick High School located at the New Brunswick Adult Learning Center. C.A.R.E.S. follows the High School curriculum while offering a different pathway to meet the graduation requirements to attain a New Brunswick High School diploma. Students receive credits at the successful completion of each 45-day quarterly cycle. Classes are offered from 9:00 am trough 6:30 pm.

  • C.A.R.E.S. strategies 

    • Flexible scheduling. 
    • Opportunities to make up missed (absences) time.
    • Small class size.
    • Individual Instruction (scaffold-ed and differentiated).
    • One class at a time approach.
    • Mastery learning.
    • Project-Based Learning.
    • Hands-on learning.
    • Performance-Based Assessments.
    • Online learning used to enhance and extend classroom instruction. 
    • Dedicated faculty. 
    • Lunch and Learn.
    • Daily common planning time.
    • Kid Talk.
    • Individualized Student Data.
  • JAG

    The JAG program consists of a comprehensive set of services designed to keep young people in school through graduation and improve the rate of success in achieving education and career goals. The ultimate goal is for participants to receive a High School Diploma ( or equivalent), secure a quality entry-level job in the workforce, pursue a post secondary education, and/or seek career advancement opportunities.

  • Credit Recovery

    Evening Credit Recovery Classes (3:30 pm - 7:15 pm; Monday - Thursday) are offered to New Brunswick High School 11th & 12th grades at the Adult Learning Center. Credit Recovery is an opportunity for current New Brunswick High School students to make up credits so that they can graduate on time. Credit Recovery classes are combined with our evening C.A.R.E.S. classes.

  • MEET OUR STAFF

    TEACHERS

    Lisa Alfaro: lisa_alfaro@nbpsnj.net

    Kristen Branchizio: kristen_branchizio@nbpsnj.net

    Michele Furchi: michele_furchi@nbpsnj.net

    Robin Glover: robin_glover@nbpsnj.net

    Nancy Guillaume: nancy_guillaume@nbpsnj.net

    Judy Hawkins: judy_hawkins@nbpsnj.net

    Erik Jacobson: erik_jacobson@nbpsnj.net

    Joseph Kriete: joseph_kriete@nbpsnj.net

    Daniel Kwok: daniel_kwok@nbpsnj.net

    Sahithi Mantri: sahithi_mantri@nbpsnj.net

    John Messeroll: john_messeroll@nbpsnj.net

    Andrea Mullarkey: andrea_mullarkey@nbpsnj.net

    Stephanie Nacanther: stephanie_nacanther@nbpsnj.net

    Kimeka Peart: kimeka_peart@nbpsnj.net

    Leidy Rodriguez: leidy_rodriguez@nbpsnj.net

    SCHOOL COUNSELOR C.A.R.E.S

    Jackleen Alvarado, MSW, CSSW: jackleen_alvarado@nbpsnj.net

    SECRETARIES

    Olga Rincon: olga_rincon@nbpsnj.net

    Carol Simmons: carol_simmons@nbpsnj.net

     

     

Last Modified on August 1, 2020